View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
AndrewB Member
Joined: 30 Mar 2006 Posts: 6 Location: Melbourne, Australia
|
Posted: Mon Mar 12, 2007 10:50 pm Post subject: Question regarding object dimensions |
|
|
Hi Guys,
I was playing around in the editor last night, putting together some simple scenes to load into my engine. I was trying to create a few cubes with dimensions of 1x1x1 and found that the editor would not allow me to do this. I could use the grid tool to create a 10x10 grid of 1x1 squares, but was unable to create 1x1x1 cubes to sit on top of the grid. Even after changing the grid size, the smallest I could create a cube was around 4x4x4.
Is this a technical limit / restriction within the tool or should the tool allow this?
Also I noticed that the DMF file stores a reference to all materials loaded into the material picker. I think I have read in other threads that other export tools also export all materials. Are there any plans to only export/save materials used within the scene?
Cheers,
Andrew. _________________ Indie Game Design & Development
http://www.beatthemachine.com
Last edited by AndrewB on Tue Mar 13, 2007 9:57 am; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Daaark DeleD PRO user
Joined: 01 Sep 2004 Posts: 2696 Location: Ottawa, Canada
|
Posted: Mon Mar 12, 2007 11:39 pm Post subject: |
|
|
You will have to move the vertices to make a cube that is 1x1x1. _________________
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
Vijchti Member
Joined: 16 Aug 2006 Posts: 250
|
Posted: Tue Mar 13, 2007 2:55 am Post subject: |
|
|
That is strange. Although, you can just turn snap to vertices off, then use the absolute scale to change an existing cube's dimensions to 1x1x1. _________________
"Psst, Here's a secret...Your last mortal thought will be,
'Why did I take so many days - just like today - for granted?'" |
|
Back to top |
|
|
LIONCode DeleD PRO user
Joined: 27 Feb 2007 Posts: 16 Location: Netherlands
|
Posted: Tue Mar 13, 2007 6:56 am Post subject: |
|
|
Quote: |
Also I noticed that the DMF file stores a reference to all materials loaded into the material picker. I think I have read in other threads that other export tools also export all materials. Are there any plans to only export/save materials used within the scene? |
I am currently developing an exporter for CrystalSpace for DeleD 1.6 and can tell you that the DXS format indicates if a material is actually used or not. The reason that all materials get saved in the dmf/dxs format is that it allows the scene designer to keep a specific list of materials for the scene. Thus this list is not always the same as the default list that gets loaded for every new scene. Anyways, it is now very easy for a plugin developer to only export the materials/textures that are used. Although this could already be done by just checking if a material was used by a polygon or not, but that is just the lazy side of us developers
The short answer to your question: it can be done in both 1.5/16 and dmf/dxs, but it all depends on the developer of the exporter.
Good luck _________________ Dennis Taapken
http://www.lioncode.com |
|
Back to top |
|
|
AndrewB Member
Joined: 30 Mar 2006 Posts: 6 Location: Melbourne, Australia
|
Posted: Tue Mar 13, 2007 9:47 am Post subject: |
|
|
LionCode: Cheers for the explanation - It won't be a problem for me to add some extra code to my converson app to filter out the unneeded materials. Just thinking about it, my engine format could take the file converted file with all unwanted materials anyway as it would just ignore them - but it would look a little lazy (and sloppy). I figured before spending time making the change, I would check to see if there was a way around it to get me out of doing it :p (or maybe making Jeroen do something )
Cheers for the responses Vampyre_Dark & Vijchti. With regards to my other question on the 1x1 objects. I have taken a few screen dumps to help explain what is going on a bit better. It may just be my lack of understanding in the tool causing the problems.
My settings - Grid size set to 1, grid snap off.
Trying to create a 1x1x1 cube. Note settings are 1,1,1
After lifting mouse button, nothing appears. I attempt to create a cube again, this time covering an area of 2x2 squares. Again nothing happens when lifting the mouse button.
Attempt to create a cube by draging the mouse over an area of 3x3
This time it created a 3x1x3 object.
So i'm not sure what is going on? _________________ Indie Game Design & Development
http://www.beatthemachine.com |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Daaark DeleD PRO user
Joined: 01 Sep 2004 Posts: 2696 Location: Ottawa, Canada
|
Posted: Tue Mar 13, 2007 3:34 pm Post subject: |
|
|
It's a known issue. I brought it up ages ago. I guess DeleD doesn't let you make objects that small so that you don't accidentally click and drag a ton of small objects. _________________
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
AndrewB Member
Joined: 30 Mar 2006 Posts: 6 Location: Melbourne, Australia
|
Posted: Tue Mar 13, 2007 11:05 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Ahh a known defect!
It probably should let you create objects of 1x1 since the grid size can go that small, and the actual creation parameters for the cube allow for a value of 1 on the length, width & height. Or if there is a limit, have some validation within the system. Well a way around it for now will be to work with a larger gridsize and add some support to my tool for downsizing during conversion.
Damn you Jeroen!
Cheers,
AndrewB. _________________ Indie Game Design & Development
http://www.beatthemachine.com |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Vijchti Member
Joined: 16 Aug 2006 Posts: 250
|
Posted: Wed Mar 14, 2007 12:31 am Post subject: |
|
|
AndrewB wrote: |
It probably should let you create objects of 1x1 since the grid size can go that small, and the actual creation parameters for the cube allow for a value of 1 on the length, width & height.
|
The grid actually only goes down to 4 (each number n you press to change the grid size is really changing it to 2^[n+1]). In reality, it doesn't make a difference since the scale is entirely dependent on your engine. _________________
"Psst, Here's a secret...Your last mortal thought will be,
'Why did I take so many days - just like today - for granted?'" |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Daaark DeleD PRO user
Joined: 01 Sep 2004 Posts: 2696 Location: Ottawa, Canada
|
Posted: Wed Mar 14, 2007 2:46 am Post subject: |
|
|
Vijchti wrote: |
The grid actually only goes down to 4 (each number n you press to change the grid size is really changing it to 2^[n+1]). |
Nope. Those presets aren't the only way to change the grid, there is also custom settings, and the ability to use CTRL+/- _________________
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
Vijchti Member
Joined: 16 Aug 2006 Posts: 250
|
Posted: Wed Mar 14, 2007 3:43 am Post subject: |
|
|
Vampyre_Dark wrote: |
Vijchti wrote: |
The grid actually only goes down to 4 (each number n you press to change the grid size is really changing it to 2^[n+1]). |
Nope. Those presets aren't the only way to change the grid, there is also custom settings, and the ability to use CTRL+/- |
Hmm, I didn't know that. Thanks for the tip! _________________
"Psst, Here's a secret...Your last mortal thought will be,
'Why did I take so many days - just like today - for granted?'" |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Paul-Jan Site Admin
Joined: 08 Aug 2004 Posts: 3066 Location: Lage Zwaluwe
|
Posted: Wed Mar 14, 2007 2:26 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Andrew:
You are right, DeleD should allow you to create cubes of 1x1 and below. Originally, DeleD used to be integer based, and it still shows in the functionality and interface here and there. I am putting this on the list (sorry Vampyre, for some reason way back when you mentioned this problem we forgot to take notes, so this issue ended up MIA) to fix.
That said, I think you are taking the safest route by allowing your loading routine to scale the scene/model down to the size used inside your application. Modeling at a larger scale is currently more convenient within DeleD.
Last edited by Paul-Jan on Wed Mar 14, 2007 7:25 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Daaark DeleD PRO user
Joined: 01 Sep 2004 Posts: 2696 Location: Ottawa, Canada
|
Posted: Wed Mar 14, 2007 4:52 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Paul-Jan wrote: |
(sorry Vampyre, for some reason way back when you mentioned this problem we forgot to take notes, so this issue ended up ) |
I never really cared too much, the vertex manipulation takes 2 seconds. _________________
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
AndrewB Member
Joined: 30 Mar 2006 Posts: 6 Location: Melbourne, Australia
|
Posted: Wed Mar 14, 2007 10:06 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Paul-Jan: Cheers for the feedback. I implemented the change to my tool last night which now allows for scaling down of the scene vertices - so my engine is happy
Thinking about it further last night while implementing the change and playing within DeleD, I agree with you completely. It is much more convenient to be working in a larger scale within DeleD and I will actually continue to do so - and then just scale as required when converting my .dmf files.
AndrewB. _________________ Indie Game Design & Development
http://www.beatthemachine.com |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|