Delgine 3D Tools & Content DeleD Community Edition
Forums
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Subdivision function
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DeleD Community Edition Forum Index -> DeleD Community Edition
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Jeroen
Site Admin


Joined: 07 Aug 2004
Posts: 5332
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Thu May 17, 2007 5:21 pm    Post subject: Subdivision function Reply with quote

People want subdivision in DeleD so... you ask, we deliver. Wink I'm working on subdivision right now. Early screens:

Original object (created using the new Lathe function) on the left: 324 polygons
After one subdivision: 1272 polygons
After a second subdivision: 5088 polygons



I really like playing with the combination of Lathe and Subdivision! Very Happy

Original object on the left: 22 polygons
After one subdivision: 88 polygons
After a second subdivision: 352 polygons



Still got some work to do but subdivision will be available in the next DeleD PRO version (1.7). Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Daaark
DeleD PRO user


Joined: 01 Sep 2004
Posts: 2696
Location: Ottawa, Canada

PostPosted: Thu May 17, 2007 5:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Very nice.

The jumps seem to be huge. You can't just double the polycount, instead of 4x? (All modellers do this, nothing against your implementation)
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Jeroen
Site Admin


Joined: 07 Aug 2004
Posts: 5332
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Thu May 17, 2007 5:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Daaark wrote:
Very nice.

The jumps seem to be huge. You can't just double the polycount, instead of 4x? (All modellers do this, nothing against your implementation)


That depends on what subdivision scheme is being used. I've used Catmull-Clark subdivision which roughly generates 4 polygons for each vertex in the original object. Most other subdivision scheme's produce a more or less simular result. Doubling the polygon... I wonder which subdivision scheme comes close to that... Do you know?

Edit: I actually think more refinement is possible by merging polygons after applying the subdivision. I might just investigate that too... perhaps... Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Mr.Fletcher
DeleD PRO user


Joined: 07 Aug 2004
Posts: 1772
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu May 17, 2007 5:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That looks brilliant!
_________________
Behold! The DeleD Wiki! Please help us expanding it Smile
DeleD on IRC
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Daaark
DeleD PRO user


Joined: 01 Sep 2004
Posts: 2696
Location: Ottawa, Canada

PostPosted: Thu May 17, 2007 6:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jeroen wrote:
Edit: I actually think more refinement is possible by merging polygons after applying the subdivision. I might just investigate that too... perhaps... Wink
No need, I was just curious.

Does this only work on quads?
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Jeroen
Site Admin


Joined: 07 Aug 2004
Posts: 5332
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Thu May 17, 2007 7:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Daaark wrote:

Does this only work on quads?


Nope, it works on arbitrary meshes so triangulated meshes are no problem either. The algorithm does produce quads only though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
jwatte
DeleD PRO user


Joined: 26 Apr 2006
Posts: 513

PostPosted: Fri May 18, 2007 12:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Now, if there was a good "optimize" button to un-subdivide too :-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jeroen
Site Admin


Joined: 07 Aug 2004
Posts: 5332
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri May 18, 2007 5:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

jwatte wrote:
Now, if there was a good "optimize" button to un-subdivide too Smile


Yes, I've been thinking about that as I've seen that in other modellers too. I wonder... could an arbitrary object that hasn't been subdivided yet be un-subdivided? Interesting stuff... Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Vijchti
Member


Joined: 16 Aug 2006
Posts: 250

PostPosted: Fri May 18, 2007 7:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

...It's like you know exactly how to turn me on.
_________________

"Psst, Here's a secret...Your last mortal thought will be,
'Why did I take so many days - just like today - for granted?'"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jeroen
Site Admin


Joined: 07 Aug 2004
Posts: 5332
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Sun May 20, 2007 1:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I finished up the subdividing routines (for now anyway Wink) and implemented another subdividing scheme: Doo-Sabin. Take a look:

Left object: original
Middle object: Catmull-Clark subdivision applied one time
Right object: Doo-Sabin subdivision applied one time



Left object: original
Middle object: Catmull-Clark subdivision applied two times
Right object: Doo-Sabin subdivision applied two times



As you can see, the Catmull-Clark scheme produces a slightly rounder object while Doo-Sabin follows the curves of the original object a little more. Both ways have their uses, of course. Amount of polygons in both subdivided objects is almost the same.

The smoothing algorithms are found in the Lowpolygon Command frame (although you can hardly call this lowpolygon anymore Laughing ) and can be used in the PRO version. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
granada
Team member


Joined: 07 Aug 2004
Posts: 1955
Location: England

PostPosted: Sun May 20, 2007 5:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Cool, nice work there jeroen Very Happy .

Dave
_________________
AMD Phenom(tm)IIx6 1090t Processor 3.20 GHS
8.00 GB memory
Windows 7 64 bit
Nvida Geforce GTX 580
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Daaark
DeleD PRO user


Joined: 01 Sep 2004
Posts: 2696
Location: Ottawa, Canada

PostPosted: Wed May 23, 2007 4:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are texture cordinates maintained?
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
espritcool
Member


Joined: 02 Aug 2006
Posts: 91

PostPosted: Wed May 23, 2007 6:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

can we use subdivise on object to exporter this in torque ?

because whouaoo very cool
_________________
Formation gratuites
Mmorpg gratuit
Enemy territory
Textures gratuites
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
Jeroen
Site Admin


Joined: 07 Aug 2004
Posts: 5332
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Wed May 23, 2007 6:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Texture coordinates are recalculated because additional vertices are inserted.

If your object can still be cut into convex pieces, I see no reason why the Torque exporter (and Torque itself) wouldn't like those objects. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
jwatte
DeleD PRO user


Joined: 26 Apr 2006
Posts: 513

PostPosted: Wed May 23, 2007 9:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Texture coordinates are recalculated


The right thing to do is probably to generate texture coordinates for the new vertices using barycentric interpolation of the old vertices on the edge (or face) being split.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DeleD Community Edition Forum Index -> DeleD Community Edition All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum