View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Progi1984 Member
Joined: 06 Dec 2004 Posts: 33 Location: Between my computer and my chair
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
Prime_8 DeleD PRO user
Joined: 11 Sep 2006 Posts: 34
|
Posted: Sun Feb 04, 2007 8:49 am Post subject: |
|
|
found that deled plugin for .b3d is exporting all surfaces to sepperate ent's in teh .b3d file.
that is if i have hull and hull has 4 surfaces in it. when teh hull mesh gets exported , the plugin makes the 4 surfaces into 4 meshes with one surface on export .
so in my app and a few other teh .b3d loads up with 4 objects called hull ?
anoying . LOL _________________ old fart coder |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Ravine DeleD PRO user
Joined: 19 Nov 2007 Posts: 15
|
Posted: Sat Jan 19, 2008 3:31 pm Post subject: |
|
|
hum. I'm posting here cause i switched from raw dxs using in irrlicht (custom loader, perf issues) to b3d (natively supported, FPS increase by 2.5 factor). But i've set up a folder organisation, where all my textures are stored, which allows me to store geometry and textures separately (for reuse purpose).
You're starting to see where i'm heading toward. The exporter allows to export textures, and lightmaps. But the paths are "texture in the same folder of the mesh", which is, i have to admit, convenient in lot of case, but not mine.
Is there any possibility to see any "path" option in the b3d exporter ? such as specify a hard coded path "..\\textures\\category\\". Actually, what i'm looking for is keeping the path system of .DXS (which is what i used so far, and was really convenient, as i just copied my whole Texture folder from deled to my game project) instead of the current plugin.
If any modification on the plugin involves lots of time or "we cant right now", any link or lead to any "b3d modifier", i would be very happy. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Coty Member
Joined: 20 Mar 2007 Posts: 30
|
Posted: Sat Jan 19, 2008 9:29 pm Post subject: |
|
|
...Is there any possibility to see any "path" option in the b3d exporter ? such as specify a hard coded path "..\\textures\\category\\"...
Hea, I second that!
My maps are in a separate folder than the textures. My texture path is ../Tex/textureName.dds. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Paul-Jan Site Admin
Joined: 08 Aug 2004 Posts: 3066 Location: Lage Zwaluwe
|
Posted: Sun Jan 20, 2008 12:50 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Sure, no problem at all. I'll add a texture basepath (relative by default), and an option to maintain category subfolders within that path.
First though I'll do a quick check if if the B3D file format supports relative texture paths, because if it doesn't, I will not be adding the option to keep the category subfolders in the final texture path.
ETA: later today. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Paul-Jan Site Admin
Joined: 08 Aug 2004 Posts: 3066 Location: Lage Zwaluwe
|
Posted: Sun Jan 20, 2008 4:28 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Ok, I've finished building in support for relative paths into the exporter, and I'll release this later today, but as an important note:
(disclaimer: based on Irrlicht 1.2 source)
The default Irrlicht B3D loader does not support relative textures paths inside the B3D file. From the source code:
File: CAnimatedMeshB3D.cpp
Method: CAnimatedMeshB3d::ReadChunkTEXS
Code: |
core::stringc TextureName=readString(file);
TextureName=stripPathString(file->getFileName(),true) + stripPathString(TextureName,false);
|
As you can see, it fully strips the path, so by default all textures have to be in the same folder as the B3D file. You'll have to modify these lines of Irrlicht code if you want things to work out.
If you do so, note how relative paths inside the B3D file
(a) only contain forward slashes
(b) start with a forward slash
This was kinda tricky to figure out, but it was the only way I could get Blitz3D (the leading reference as far as B3D support goes ) to actually accept the files with relative paths in them.
Hope that helps! Will post the updated exporter later today... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Ravine DeleD PRO user
Joined: 19 Nov 2007 Posts: 15
|
Posted: Sun Jan 20, 2008 5:32 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Ah damn, thanks. i should have read the API doc first . As a C# dev with the .NetCP wrapper, i dont modify the native dll
Thanks for looking at that. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Paul-Jan Site Admin
Joined: 08 Aug 2004 Posts: 3066 Location: Lage Zwaluwe
|
Posted: Sun Jan 20, 2008 8:44 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Hmmm, sorry to hear that! Perhaps you can get someone to fix up and recompile the original DLL... or perhaps Niko/Luke can fix this behaviour inside the actual release version of Irrlicht, because it seems to be an actual bug (or missing feature) in the B3D loader!
p.s. I have just released the new version of the exporter, see http://www.delgine.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2982 |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|