Delgine 3D Tools & Content DeleD Community Edition
Forums
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Urquhart Castle - Loch Ness - Scotland
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DeleD Community Edition Forum Index -> DeleD 3D Modelling
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
AWM Mars
Member


Joined: 06 Jan 2010
Posts: 1195
Location: Wilts England

PostPosted: Fri Mar 19, 2010 7:05 pm    Post subject: Urquhart Castle - Loch Ness - Scotland Reply with quote

I've completed the first render version of the Castle project. I do this so I can check graphics, textures, scale, collisions etc etc. While I was in there, I grabbed a couple of screen shots you might want to look at.

For the most part, the textures and meshes need adjustment and even some reworking. Overall I'm quite pleased with the scale and render so far.

http://www.working.yourinside.com/worlds/ForumPics/CastleProject/CastleOne.jpg
http://www.working.yourinside.com/worlds/ForumPics/CastleProject/CastleTwo.jpg
http://www.working.yourinside.com/worlds/ForumPics/CastleProject/CastleThree.jpg
http://www.working.yourinside.com/worlds/ForumPics/CastleProject/CastleFour.jpg
http://www.working.yourinside.com/worlds/ForumPics/CastleProject/CastleFive.jpg
http://www.working.yourinside.com/worlds/ForumPics/CastleProject/CastleSix.jpg
http://www.working.yourinside.com/worlds/ForumPics/CastleProject/CastleSeven.jpg
http://www.working.yourinside.com/worlds/ForumPics/CastleProject/CastleEight.jpg
http://www.working.yourinside.com/worlds/ForumPics/CastleProject/CastleNine.jpg
http://www.working.yourinside.com/worlds/ForumPics/CastleProject/CastleTen.jpg
_________________
Politeness is priceless when received, cost nothing to own or give, yet some cannot afford.

Checkout:
http://www.awm.mars.yourinside.com/
http://www.bccservices.co.uk
http://www.localtradecheck.co.uk
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
chronozphere
DeleD PRO user


Joined: 20 Jun 2006
Posts: 1010
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Mar 19, 2010 8:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's a gorgeous looking scene, mate. Excellent job! Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AWM Mars
Member


Joined: 06 Jan 2010
Posts: 1195
Location: Wilts England

PostPosted: Fri Mar 19, 2010 10:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

chronozphere wrote:
That's a gorgeous looking scene, mate. Excellent job! Very Happy

Thanks.. still a long way to go.. will probably have to redo the land mesh.. it was ripped up quite badly during optimisation...
_________________
Politeness is priceless when received, cost nothing to own or give, yet some cannot afford.

Checkout:
http://www.awm.mars.yourinside.com/
http://www.bccservices.co.uk
http://www.localtradecheck.co.uk
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Lascar
Member


Joined: 28 Feb 2010
Posts: 79
Location: Cornwall, England

PostPosted: Fri Mar 19, 2010 11:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Very good, I have browsed the forum and your work stands out.
Being new to DeleD I am amazed how you get the textures to take so well.
For my own part the previous 3D modeller I used (OpenFX) I never used textures only colours, so it's all new stuff to me.
Regrettably, I am getting blurs a lot of the time when texturing . but then I am on a steep learning curve Sad
I can see it's how the 3D's are built that makes the difference (so I have to keep practising) but the way you are getting all that detail in and having the textures fit so well is skill indeed Cool
.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
chronozphere
DeleD PRO user


Joined: 20 Jun 2006
Posts: 1010
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Mar 19, 2010 11:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you see alot of blur you either:

- Use textures that have a very low resolution
- Use the wrong scale for your polygons.

Make sure that the polygons in UV view have the right scale. Try texturing simple things, like a barrel, maybe a piece of furniture.. something like that. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jeroen
Site Admin


Joined: 07 Aug 2004
Posts: 5334
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Sat Mar 20, 2010 7:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Very, very nice scene you've got there, AWM! Very Happy
_________________
Check out Figuro, our online 3D app! More powerful 3D tools for free.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
trucker2000
DeleD PRO user


Joined: 11 May 2005
Posts: 1839
Location: Sacramento, California

PostPosted: Sat Mar 20, 2010 12:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Now that scene definately puts the version I did to total shame. Awesome job there. It looks fantastic.
_________________
Some day I will grow up and be a real modeler.
"Never give up! Never surrender!!"
Sys specs:
asus
8 gigs ram
Invidia gtx560 video card
Windows 8 (worst op sys Ever)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mappy
DeleD PRO user


Joined: 18 Aug 2005
Posts: 340
Location: France

PostPosted: Sat Mar 20, 2010 12:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Very nice ! Cool
_________________
OL.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
userboo
Member


Joined: 11 Aug 2008
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Sat Mar 20, 2010 12:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

how many polys is this and are you going to use it in a video game if it's not insanely high?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chronozphere
DeleD PRO user


Joined: 20 Jun 2006
Posts: 1010
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sat Mar 20, 2010 1:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

userboo wrote:
how many polys is this and are you going to use it in a video game if it's not insanely high?


The mesh could be used in a video game. Smile

That's because most graphics cards can handle alot of polygons these days. I think DeleD will be the limiting factor here. DeleD will get incredibly slow when you are using > 30.000 vertices. Games can handle models that are 3x bigger.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AWM Mars
Member


Joined: 06 Jan 2010
Posts: 1195
Location: Wilts England

PostPosted: Sat Mar 20, 2010 1:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

well in DeleD its a total of 23,205 polygons. The terrain alone accounts for 7,785 polygons.

When exported to the platform we created, using Ogre graphics engine, it is all measured in Tri's on the screen at any one time. Hard to give an average, it shows at full screen around 58,000 tris but I get between 60-80fps using a nVidia 8500GT with 1gb DDR III onboard ram. Not a fast card by any means.

All our content is created for use in a online browser rendered environment with multi users. We don't do gaming senarios, its more sedate than that, but the multi user with functionality is still relevant.

Those pictures, are actual full screen shots taken within the platform.
_________________
Politeness is priceless when received, cost nothing to own or give, yet some cannot afford.

Checkout:
http://www.awm.mars.yourinside.com/
http://www.bccservices.co.uk
http://www.localtradecheck.co.uk
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
chronozphere
DeleD PRO user


Joined: 20 Jun 2006
Posts: 1010
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sat Mar 20, 2010 3:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

wow.. 23k polygons is quite alot. Is DeleD slow when you work on this model?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AWM Mars
Member


Joined: 06 Jan 2010
Posts: 1195
Location: Wilts England

PostPosted: Sat Mar 20, 2010 4:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

chronozphere wrote:
wow.. 23k polygons is quite alot. Is DeleD slow when you work on this model?

No not at all.. I whizz around very quickly... It did slow down when I created the Dockland Offices, but that did have over 56k polygons. Even that build, when ported into our platform and optimised, still gave me over 50fps when published.
_________________
Politeness is priceless when received, cost nothing to own or give, yet some cannot afford.

Checkout:
http://www.awm.mars.yourinside.com/
http://www.bccservices.co.uk
http://www.localtradecheck.co.uk
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
John
DeleD PRO user


Joined: 22 Dec 2008
Posts: 182
Location: Houston, TX

PostPosted: Sun Mar 21, 2010 4:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Very nice work on the architecture. Are you going to implement normal mapping in the product? That would really make it come alive.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AWM Mars
Member


Joined: 06 Jan 2010
Posts: 1195
Location: Wilts England

PostPosted: Sun Mar 21, 2010 12:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There is something I am not totally familiar with.. normal mapping.

When I export the model I select smooth mapping under normals.

In the platform where its hosted, it has a function to turn on or off Normal mapping, which I turn on. This seems to give the model a bit more depth as the rendering engine adds subtle shadowing to each facet. I allow this as long as it doesn't either conflict with the light mapping, or the dynamic shadowing.

From my limited understanding, normal mapping creates a gradient shading across each facet as the light changes, rather than a switching effect. Is there more to it than that?
-----------------

I noticed (which you can see in the pictures http://www.working.yourinside.com/worlds/ForumPics/CastleProject/CastleSeven.jpg) that as each model was created seperately and dropped into the main project file as a prefab, some of the models seem to have adopted different versions of the same materials file, even on the same model.

I spend several hours redoing all the textures in the main project file, so they all used the same source materials. I had to do this three times before it finally took. In some cases the materials would define different textures all together.
I have a selection of source folders that have been created within the DeleD texture folder. I normally create a project folder, drop the prepared textures in there, making it easy to reference and find what I need. When creating Prefabs and reusing them, the file structure seems to loose reference and swaps any materials it cannot find, with something from the past (I had two textures of the same name in different folders once). All my textures are uniquely named so that should not happen, but it does.[/url]
_________________
Politeness is priceless when received, cost nothing to own or give, yet some cannot afford.

Checkout:
http://www.awm.mars.yourinside.com/
http://www.bccservices.co.uk
http://www.localtradecheck.co.uk


Last edited by AWM Mars on Sun Mar 21, 2010 12:12 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DeleD Community Edition Forum Index -> DeleD 3D Modelling All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Page 1 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum