View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
CableGuy Member
Joined: 11 Jan 2011 Posts: 14
|
Posted: Sat Aug 13, 2011 8:55 am Post subject: Collada Importer |
|
|
Hey guys,
Thought I will have a go at creating a plugin for Deled.
Since there was no Collada importer and I already had a (not complete) code for working with Collada, creating the plugin was merely writing code to interact with Deled and mixing the two together.
So here is the plugin.
The plugin is still not complete. There is a progress bar but it does nothing so when loading a large file it might seem stuck but hopefully it is not. There is a second text box that says Textures folder but currently does nothing and as mentioned above the Collada loader itself is incomplete, it loads only static geometry and materials no animation and no lights and will probably fail on a lot of files. If you encounter such files and if it is possible it would help me if you could send the files so I can check what went wrong.
Also, wanted to ask how to handle textures. should they be copied to the Deled texture directory or can Deled load them anywhere on the disk. If the former this might be a problem since copying the texture to Deled path might require elevated access(under Win7) since it sits in Program Files.
And last, in the process of writing this plugin I've written a(IMHO) nice set of classes in C++ to ease the creation of plugins in Deled and I'm willing to share the code...
The classes are used to store a Deled scene and load/save them from/to xml and also one small class called DeledInterface used to interact with the application.
So hope you like this plugin and that someone finds it useful.
Thanks.
Last edited by CableGuy on Thu Oct 20, 2011 3:23 pm; edited 3 times in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
granada Team member
Joined: 07 Aug 2004 Posts: 1955 Location: England
|
Posted: Sat Aug 13, 2011 8:59 am Post subject: |
|
|
Many thanks for working on this CableGuy ,ime sure a lot of people will find it usefull.
Dave _________________ AMD Phenom(tm)IIx6 1090t Processor 3.20 GHS
8.00 GB memory
Windows 7 64 bit
Nvida Geforce GTX 580 |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Jeroen Site Admin
Joined: 07 Aug 2004 Posts: 5332 Location: The Netherlands
|
Posted: Sat Aug 13, 2011 9:04 am Post subject: |
|
|
I canĀ“t download the file right now as the link says its currently unavailable.
Nonetheless, very nice work : I'm sure many people will find this useful. _________________ Check out Figuro, our online 3D app! More powerful 3D tools for free. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
AWM Mars Member
Joined: 06 Jan 2010 Posts: 1195 Location: Wilts England
|
Posted: Sat Aug 13, 2011 9:36 am Post subject: |
|
|
Hi CableBuy,
Firstly, thanks for the Importer, my previous work-flow was to import into Blender (shudders), then export to OBJ, before importing into DeleD, with some mixed results, mainly with textures.
The current version of DeleD cannot reference textures etc outside its own file structure. As Collada in one of the only formats that doesn't pack its textures etc inside a single file, it hasn't been an issue before. This is outside of my skill set, but I'm sure others will be able to pick up on your query. _________________ Politeness is priceless when received, cost nothing to own or give, yet some cannot afford.
Checkout:
http://www.awm.mars.yourinside.com/
http://www.bccservices.co.uk
http://www.localtradecheck.co.uk |
|
Back to top |
|
|
trucker2000 DeleD PRO user
Joined: 11 May 2005 Posts: 1839 Location: Sacramento, California
|
Posted: Sat Aug 13, 2011 1:28 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I hate those mega upload sites. Too many adds, have to wait too long.
Here is a mirror without those adds or wait time.
Edit: Updated importer to the release version. _________________ Some day I will grow up and be a real modeler.
"Never give up! Never surrender!!"
Sys specs:
asus
8 gigs ram
Invidia gtx560 video card
Windows 8 (worst op sys Ever)
Last edited by trucker2000 on Wed Aug 24, 2011 10:16 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
AWM Mars Member
Joined: 06 Jan 2010 Posts: 1195 Location: Wilts England
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
CableGuy Member
Joined: 11 Jan 2011 Posts: 14
|
Posted: Thu Aug 18, 2011 3:36 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Indeed it was compiled in debug mode didn't think it would be a problem sorry for that but anyway even in release mode you would still need the Visual C++10 runtime files. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
MadMikeAU Member
Joined: 18 Apr 2011 Posts: 38 Location: West Sydney, NSW, Australia
|
Posted: Mon Aug 22, 2011 4:42 am Post subject: |
|
|
CableGuy wrote: |
Indeed it was compiled in debug mode didn't think it would be a problem sorry for that but anyway even in release mode you would still need the Visual C++10 runtime files. |
The runtime only gives you the Release DLLs. The debug DLLs only come with the developer VS. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
AWM Mars Member
Joined: 06 Jan 2010 Posts: 1195 Location: Wilts England
|
Posted: Mon Aug 22, 2011 7:42 am Post subject: |
|
|
MadMikeAU wrote: |
CableGuy wrote: |
Indeed it was compiled in debug mode didn't think it would be a problem sorry for that but anyway even in release mode you would still need the Visual C++10 runtime files. |
The runtime only gives you the Release DLLs. The debug DLLs only come with the developer VS. |
It seems looking at my system, I have every version of the VC files, except 2010. However, is it possible that you are going to compile it in run mode and release it again?
It is a important format for any 3D modelling programme to be able to export in, and one, until recently, missing from DeleD. I'm sure I am not the only user that would appreciate your efforts. _________________ Politeness is priceless when received, cost nothing to own or give, yet some cannot afford.
Checkout:
http://www.awm.mars.yourinside.com/
http://www.bccservices.co.uk
http://www.localtradecheck.co.uk |
|
Back to top |
|
|
CableGuy Member
Joined: 11 Jan 2011 Posts: 14
|
Posted: Mon Aug 22, 2011 3:21 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Recompiled in Release mode. Clicky. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
AWM Mars Member
Joined: 06 Jan 2010 Posts: 1195 Location: Wilts England
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
CableGuy Member
Joined: 11 Jan 2011 Posts: 14
|
Posted: Wed Oct 19, 2011 6:09 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Sure. How do I send it to you? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
AWM Mars Member
Joined: 06 Jan 2010 Posts: 1195 Location: Wilts England
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
CableGuy Member
Joined: 11 Jan 2011 Posts: 14
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
AWM Mars Member
Joined: 06 Jan 2010 Posts: 1195 Location: Wilts England
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
|