View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Yokom DeleD PRO user
Joined: 11 Apr 2005 Posts: 22 Location: Dallas TX
|
Posted: Fri May 06, 2005 1:54 pm Post subject: |
|
|
colt527 wrote: |
I am having a not so important problem, but if someone could help me out it would be great. Everything works fine (after I triangulated). But inside my scene the object refuses to cast shadows. I tried all 3 types of shadows under all of the different light types it just wont work (Yes, I set cast shadow to true). Is anyone having similar problems? |
Sorry ive been really busy on my project i havnt been checking forums. When you say lighting do you mean inside delgine or are you setting the lights up in the ogre scene.
if you set the lights up inside ogre then the problem might be in the way delgine exports the data to one mesh. in ogre the entire delgine scene is combined into one mesh object the way it looks. Im not sure if ogre will cast shadows from one mesh to itself. I need to test this and just dont have time atm.
Try doing a room as one mesh.
Then create a few object in different dmf files exprot each one and load 3 meshes into ogre and place the smalle objects inside the room and put a light object in the room.
See if the different meshes cast shadows on the room floor.
Then combine them in delgine and export them all as one mesh and load it into ogre and see if the results are the same and the smaller objets still cast shadows.
I would be intrested to see the results if they go the way I think they will. I think you will get the objects to cast shadows if they are loaded as different meshes and you wont get shadows if they are loaded as a single mesh object. I could be completely wrong ill admitt but its a worthwhile expermint. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Jim Coe Member
Joined: 27 Mar 2005 Posts: 6 Location: San Francisco North Bay
|
Posted: Fri May 06, 2005 3:35 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Ogre meshes will cast and receive shadows on themselves.
Over at the:
http://www.pelicancrossing.com forum we are alpha testing "Blink 3D", a new web 3D immersive environment assembly application which uses Ogre as the render engine.
Under the forum there ("Discussion" > thread "Shadows") you will see JavaScript code and discussions for shadows. The Ogre manual at the Ogre site has quite a bit too.
We Blink 3D testers are not using C++, but JavaScript, so the code is not exactly the same, but you might find you are missing a declaration or such. You can see the online tests we are trying, if you download the current Alpha Build of the Blink 3D player for MSIE. _________________ -jc |
|
Back to top |
|
|
DarkSeraph Member
Joined: 01 Jul 2005 Posts: 14
|
Posted: Fri Jul 01, 2005 8:51 pm Post subject: |
|
|
So... how's that .scene exporter coming along?
Being able to put in dynamic lighting would be very cool... and if you want to blow my mind make it do cubemaps But I'm not sure those can be done 100% out of code.
mmmm shiny reflections... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
DarkSeraph Member
Joined: 01 Jul 2005 Posts: 14
|
Posted: Wed Jul 20, 2005 4:28 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Sorry for the double post, but I have a much more serious question:
The programmer for my project has been working on Ogre for a bit, trying to get used to it and can load the example meshes that come with it, but when he tries to load what DeleD exports he can't unless it's not exporting normals. It just doesn't load correctly.
edit: Basically with or without normals exported lighting isn't being applied to the mesh. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Paul-Jan Site Admin
Joined: 08 Aug 2004 Posts: 3066 Location: Lage Zwaluwe
|
Posted: Thu Jul 21, 2005 9:42 am Post subject: |
|
|
Ok, let me get this straight, are you saying:
1. We can load the exported files just fine, but
2. The dynamic Ogre lighting doesn't seem to be applied?
In that case, try running the model through the OgreXMLConverter.exe (it's one of the commandline tools provided with Ogre) and see if that helps. I am guessing it is probably missing edge data. Running mesh.buildEdgeList() from within the code (after loading the model) should fix this problem.
If there is something else wrong, could you please restate the question? (or let your programmer do it, if that's more convenient ) If there is something wrong, I really want to get it fixed |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|