Delgine 3D Tools & Content DeleD Community Edition
Forums
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

how to create a simple dungeon/cave in DeleD.
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DeleD Community Edition Forum Index -> DeleD Tutorials
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
elementrix
DeleD PRO user


Joined: 11 May 2006
Posts: 1300
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Wed Nov 21, 2007 3:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Donkey wrote:
Hey. great tut tho, but you didnt said "smooth->catmull-clark" function was for Pro-only.
However great tut and i did learned something else: the Flip functions.


than use the other one Very Happy doo-sabin (altough i thought that one was only for pro)

but great you liked it:)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Donkey
Member


Joined: 20 Nov 2007
Posts: 26
Location: The Netherlands! <:)

PostPosted: Wed Nov 21, 2007 4:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

elementrix wrote:
Donkey wrote:
Hey. great tut tho, but you didnt said "smooth->catmull-clark" function was for Pro-only.
However great tut and i did learned something else: the Flip functions.


than use the other one Very Happy doo-sabin (altough i thought that one was only for pro)

but great you liked it:)


at the objects?
I make 2 cubes next to eachother. I go to polygon mode and select them all. Then I do "flip"->ok, then i go back to object mode and I do "smooth"->Doo-Sabin and ok. but they dont line up in eachother.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
elementrix
DeleD PRO user


Joined: 11 May 2006
Posts: 1300
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Wed Nov 21, 2007 4:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

that's because the 2 cube's are seperate objects, make one cube- go to polygon mode- select one face- extrude that face so it looks like there are 2 cube's now- (you'll see that it is one object) - flip all the face's - smooth and now it will go ok, If this is what you ment there...

EDIT: off topic- hehe your also from the netherlands Very Happy , which province?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Donkey
Member


Joined: 20 Nov 2007
Posts: 26
Location: The Netherlands! <:)

PostPosted: Wed Nov 21, 2007 4:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

elementrix wrote:
that's because the 2 cube's are seperate objects, make one cube- go to polygon mode- select one face- extrude that face so it looks like there are 2 cube's now- (you'll see that it is one object) - flip all the face's - smooth and now it will go ok, If this is what you ment there...

EDIT: off topic- hehe your also from the netherlands Very Happy , which province?


Ill make screen of what I mean.

Btw: offtopic - Gelderland -> Apeldoorn.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Donkey
Member


Joined: 20 Nov 2007
Posts: 26
Location: The Netherlands! <:)

PostPosted: Wed Nov 21, 2007 4:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey srry.

Somehow couldnt log in, every time i try to and go back to homepage i have to re-login.
u understand what i mean? I already did the smooth thing at object mode.

EDIT: double-post. srry couldnt find the edit button. proberly of my log-in problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
elementrix
DeleD PRO user


Joined: 11 May 2006
Posts: 1300
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Wed Nov 21, 2007 5:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes that's exactly what i thought, if you don't understand what i said above here, then try to merge those 2 cube's- then delete the 2 polygons that you don't see (the two that face the other cube, in the middle) and then smooth, now it should work
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
sonic91
Member


Joined: 19 Jan 2007
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Thu Nov 29, 2007 8:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can't extrude in DeleD Lite. Any advice? By the way, GREAT tutorial! It looks fantastic!

[EDIT] Oops! Sorry, didn't read it properly, I was looking for extrude in object mode rather than polygon mode!
_________________
"Fight the good fight of faith,
Lay hold on Eternal Life."

-1 Timothy 6:12-

God Bless.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
elementrix
DeleD PRO user


Joined: 11 May 2006
Posts: 1300
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Thu Nov 29, 2007 8:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sonic91 wrote:
You can't extrude in DeleD Lite. Any advice? By the way, GREAT tutorial! It looks fantastic!

[EDIT] Oops! Sorry, didn't read it properly, I was looking for extrude in object mode rather than polygon mode!


you CAN extrude in deled lite, i just did it on my laptop. Go to polygon mode and extrude becomes available Wink

edit: ahh, i see you found it Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Starnick
DeleD PRO user


Joined: 28 Jul 2007
Posts: 611

PostPosted: Fri Nov 30, 2007 12:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

elementrix wrote:
sonic91 wrote:
You can't extrude in DeleD Lite. Any advice? By the way, GREAT tutorial! It looks fantastic!

[EDIT] Oops! Sorry, didn't read it properly, I was looking for extrude in object mode rather than polygon mode!


you CAN extrude in deled lite, i just did it on my laptop. Go to polygon mode and extrude becomes available Wink

edit: ahh, i see you found it Very Happy


Aye, comparing their lite vs pro:

http://www.delgine.com/index.php?filename=deled_features

It's almost as if Paul and Jeroen run a charity compared to other modeling software out there Razz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
Jeroen
Site Admin


Joined: 07 Aug 2004
Posts: 5324
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Nov 30, 2007 7:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Starnick wrote:

Aye, comparing their lite vs pro:

http://www.delgine.com/index.php?filename=deled_features

It's almost as if Paul and Jeroen run a charity compared to other modeling software out there Razz


Yes, according to our sales, I think you're right. Confused
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Starnick
DeleD PRO user


Joined: 28 Jul 2007
Posts: 611

PostPosted: Fri Nov 30, 2007 7:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jeroen wrote:
Starnick wrote:

Aye, comparing their lite vs pro:

http://www.delgine.com/index.php?filename=deled_features

It's almost as if Paul and Jeroen run a charity compared to other modeling software out there Razz


Yes, according to our sales, I think you're right. Confused


Well at least you guys got cold hard cash from my paypal account Razz

Worth every penny too Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
sonic91
Member


Joined: 19 Jan 2007
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Fri Nov 30, 2007 8:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

What's the best percentage for smoothing in Lite? I tried 100% but the editor froze up.
_________________
"Fight the good fight of faith,
Lay hold on Eternal Life."

-1 Timothy 6:12-

God Bless.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Jeroen
Site Admin


Joined: 07 Aug 2004
Posts: 5324
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Nov 30, 2007 9:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

100% is usually best. DeleD freezing is no good so something must be going on. Perhaps you can send me your object (jeroen at delgine dot com) so I can give it a try myself?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
elementrix
DeleD PRO user


Joined: 11 May 2006
Posts: 1300
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Nov 30, 2007 11:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

sonic91 wrote:
What's the best percentage for smoothing in Lite? I tried 100% but the editor froze up.


ussually when it freezes, you clicked more than one time, so first a smooth (alot more poly's) and over that much poly's a smooth again but then your computer can't handle it the calculation for so many.

if your model gets messed up after smoothing try to weld the vertices before smoothing Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
andy_mc
DeleD PRO user


Joined: 15 Dec 2007
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Mon Dec 17, 2007 4:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Good thing to do once you're done with this, is grab random vertices inside the cave and pull them around a little, just to give the rocks abit of randomness, also I made a flat surface for the floor and that made it look a little better too.

Other things would be to add some rock pools, as well as a few holes in the roof for light shafts to add realism.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DeleD Community Edition Forum Index -> DeleD Tutorials All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Page 2 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum