Delgine 3D Tools & Content DeleD Community Edition
Forums
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Constructor Lines

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DeleD Community Edition Forum Index -> DeleD Feature Requests
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
AWM Mars
Member


Joined: 06 Jan 2010
Posts: 1195
Location: Wilts England

PostPosted: Fri Jun 18, 2010 1:53 pm    Post subject: Constructor Lines Reply with quote

One thing I would find useful would be a feature I first used in Atmosphere Builder called 'Constructor Lines', I have also used found them in AutoCad.

Basically you can draw a line between 2 or more points in any axis. They are non interactive, are not exported with the model, but are saved in the project file. You use them for alignments that are not adhered to the fixed axis.
For instance, say I was making a flight of stairs. In the UK, the regulations state, 42 degree pitch for Private stairs, and 38 degrees for Public. I would need to draw a line in side view to that angle and use two Constructor Lines to align the top tread nosings and the bottom part of the riser.
In AutoCad I could use a axis lock, so any lines I draw (other than Constructor Lines), would be either x,y or z related, so creating the treads and risers would simply be, choose a direction (axis) and draw until it intersects the Constructor Line, then change axis. AutoCad allowed you to set up a type of Macro so you could tell it to draw so many 'treads', with associated 'risers' that go between the Constructor Lines, albeit I would make one and simply use copy/paste etc. You could turn on/off the Constructor Lines.
_________________
Politeness is priceless when received, cost nothing to own or give, yet some cannot afford.

Checkout:
http://www.awm.mars.yourinside.com/
http://www.bccservices.co.uk
http://www.localtradecheck.co.uk
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
AWM Mars
Member


Joined: 06 Jan 2010
Posts: 1195
Location: Wilts England

PostPosted: Tue Sep 28, 2010 9:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just to enlarge on this feature....

Where constructor lines intersect, you could use those for snapping objects to. And or, you could mark a position along the constructor line, and use that as a point of origin, until you move it again.

Another tool that could be used effectively with Constructor lines is, the 'Origin' tool. It allows you to effectively move 0,0,0, location to any point on the model, and or a intersection, or point along a Constructor Line. That way you can position elements in relative position to another element, or part of.
This doesn't actually move the 'real' 0,0,0, origin, but allows you to effectively create a reference anchor. You can move/locate objects to either that named Origin Anchor, or the default one.
_________________
Politeness is priceless when received, cost nothing to own or give, yet some cannot afford.

Checkout:
http://www.awm.mars.yourinside.com/
http://www.bccservices.co.uk
http://www.localtradecheck.co.uk
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
harper
Member


Joined: 19 Jul 2007
Posts: 283
Location: Hamburg, Germany

PostPosted: Tue Sep 28, 2010 4:45 pm    Post subject: Origin Reply with quote

Does setting an individual origin for a single object, that it rotates around this manually specified point/axis?
That would be great. Take a quarter of a round object, design it as you wish,
nad make 3 clones, exactly rotated around the center of the old original.
That would help a lot.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
AWM Mars
Member


Joined: 06 Jan 2010
Posts: 1195
Location: Wilts England

PostPosted: Tue Sep 28, 2010 9:22 pm    Post subject: Re: Origin Reply with quote

harper wrote:
Does setting an individual origin for a single object, that it rotates around this manually specified point/axis?
That would be great. Take a quarter of a round object, design it as you wish,
nad make 3 clones, exactly rotated around the center of the old original.
That would help a lot.

If I understand you correctly, then yes, this moveable Origin acts like 'model space' anchor, which rotate, mirror, move etc etc all work from. Once you delete it, the 'world space' origin becomes default, until you create another remote origin.
_________________
Politeness is priceless when received, cost nothing to own or give, yet some cannot afford.

Checkout:
http://www.awm.mars.yourinside.com/
http://www.bccservices.co.uk
http://www.localtradecheck.co.uk
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DeleD Community Edition Forum Index -> DeleD Feature Requests All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum